People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One of the most cherished characteristics of humans is the ability to feel and show our emotions. In a world which is largely governed by human emotions, it is, however, a sign of poor decision making when people make decisions based on their emotions and then make it worse by trying to justify their decisions with logic.

We, as humans, tend to let our emotions overpower us in a lot of situations in life. We become so emotional and end up making a series of decisions that are governed by our emotions itself. Even though these decisions might seem like the best choices at that moment, we end up realizing later how foolishly we acted. What makes it worse is, in order to cover up for our poor decisions and results, we try to justify them by using abstract logic. This, more than often, is just an attempt to justify our actions and help us feel better. Any decision that we make, be it in our personal, social, or professional lives must always be made by making use of analytical thinking. One must consider the positive and negative outcomes of every decision and then take a sound decision that they know will give the best outcome. A decision that is taken after careful consideration helps us get better results.

We can see in many instances where decisions based on emotions only lead to more complications. Say, a CEO of a big company needs to step down and has to appoint someone to replace him. He has a pool of exceptional candidates to choose from but is also inclined to give the position to his own son who might be highly unqualified for this, only based on his emotions towards his son. This same CEO shall try to justify his choice to the whole company by citing reasons that might not be true. We can clearly see that this is an incorrect decision but the CEO in that moment cannot see past his emotions. This is a quality that makes him a poor decision maker. Moreover, one of the most striking attributes of an entrepreneur is said to be strong decision making capability which only comes through practical thinking. Another example is when people let their religious sentiments and emotions take over their pragmatic thinking and make decisions. For example, in India, feuds over religion has been going on for centuries. People are so swayed by their religious emotions that they try to justify their actions which include brutal killing, by using logic such as devotion to their god and politics.

However, it is very true that sometimes, we do need to take decisions based on our emotions and they turn out to give fruitful results. For example, when parents get old and it becomes difficult to take care of them while trying to manage one's own lives, a lot of the people tend to send their parents to oldage homes because certainly, they do have their own benefits. Analytically thinking, the pros of this decision definitely outweigh the cons. However, the people who refuse to think about it pragmatically but emotionally, stay with their parents and take care of them. This is still a decision that is based on emotions but this decision does not make someone a poor decision maker.

Therefore, letting our emotions govern our decisions and then justifying them later by using logic does make us poor decision makers. However, this statement might have its own exceptions.