The best way to teach whether as an educator employer or parent is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Every person continuously learns throughout her life and most of the time there is someone who helps with this process, someone like a parent, teacher, or employer. There is a plethora of approaches to teaching and the prompt argues that praising positive actions while ignoring the negative ones is the best approach. I mildly disagree with this claim: while there are reasons why this could be true, I am convinced that there are better approaches that would allow learning more effectively.

Probably the most persuasive reason why one may think that ignoring errors is a good idea is that it helps to keep the student motivated. Indeed, constantly getting negative feedback on your work can discourage a person from trying to achieve a better result. If all you hear is criticism, it is harder to continue learning compared to the situation when you hear only positive feedback on your work. Hearing praising comments may encourage you to do more exercises and work harder to achieve even better results.

However, this is not a dichotomy, it is not like you are either only being praised or only frown upon. There is an alternative: the teacher can praise all successes and simultaneously acknowledge some errors. It is not necessary to punish for the errors, it’s enough to specify what they are. This approach would give a lot more information to the studying person. Consider an example where a pupil learns how to write. If the pupil writes some words wrong every time, it will be very hard for him to guess what the error is if all the information he has is a lack of praise for certain words. It would be much easier for the pupil to correct the error if the teacher would just point out what is wrong with the word. Thus, acknowledging mistakes would make learning a lot faster while not impairing motivation.

Ignoring errors also makes it harder to notice that there is an error in the first place. For instance, if a new employee forgets to do part of her job responsibilities, there is essentially no way for her to find out about this error unless someone reminds her about this part of her job. Also, ignoring some problems may not only leave them unsolved but also make them worse. If the teacher does not correct her student’s pronunciation, the student can form a bad habit of pronouncing the word in the wrong way, and it can be very hard to get rid of such a habit.

All things considered, praising successful actions while ignoring unsuccessful ones may be an excellent strategy from the motivational point of view, but errors provide so much information that it would be wrong to just ignore them. Acknowledging negative actions is an important part of education, so just ignoring them may impair education speed and even quality.