People who are mostly commited to an idea or a policy are also most critical of it.

In modern society people tend to gather around some ideas and policies. And the people who are mostly commited to these ideas are usually the loudest minority we hear the most. Are they the most critical to the idea or policy they are commited to? I would argue, that they are mostly not.

On the one hand, people most commited to any idea are probably the ones who spent a decent amout of time thinking about it. And during this thinking they are likely to explore the weakest points of the idea. For instance, AI risk researchers think a lot about AI timelines and they tend to be more critical of possibility of Artificial Intelligence in the next few decades than most other pundits. So despite being the people who are mostly commited to the idea of creation of the safe Artificial Intelligence those researchers are quite critical of this idea.

On the other hand, it is quite common that people who become comitted to some idea or policy become completely ignorant on all of it's critisism. This is especially the case with conspirancy theory people such as Flat Earth society. These people think that the Earch is flat and just ignore every scientific fact that proves that the Earth is actually round. The more commited a person is to the idea of the flat Earth, the harder it becomes to convince him that there is better theory which has more facts pointing towards it. This is the opposite to being critical of the idea.

Furthermore, there is a thing called sunk cost fallacy. It is a well known cognitive bias that pushes people to continue doing what they are doing just becouse they invested a lot of time and effort in it. I think, this fallacy also plays role in making people that are found of some ideas less critical of them: the more time person has invested in exploring some idea the harder it is to admit that the idea may be wrong and move to another one. For example, if the scientist has invested a lot of time and funds into researching the connection between certain compound in the brain and the Alzheimer's desiase, it will be hard for him to accept the fact that there is no connection and all that time and money were mostly wasted on taking the wrong direction. In this case personal commitment stands in the way of critical thinking approach that would suggest to stop wasting time and money, write up the results of the study, and move on to another research topic.

All things considered, I would conclude that this is a complex topic that has no single answer to it. There are some cases where mostly commited people are also most critical, but in general this is not true. While we as a society would want the prompt to be true, the human nature itself stands in our way, and it depends on our will power if we can fight it or not.