Memorandum from the business manager of a television station

The memorandum from the business manager of a television station suggests expanding the coverage of weather and local news in all news programs to attract more viewers and avoid losing advertising revenues. The manager supports his argument by noting that most of the complaints over the recent years were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news, and local businesses have canceled their advertising campaigns. However, the suggestion jumps to the conclusions too fast and additional evidence is required to evaluate it correctly.

First, we need to know the reasons why local businesses canceled their advertising campaigns. Maybe it has nothing to do with the news quality and this decision is motivated by other factors such as ad pricing. Or television ads may have become less effective than Internet ads over the recent few years. It is also a possibility that local businesses don’t have enough money to spend on advertising, for instance, because of the economic crisis.

The second piece of evidence that would be helpful is whether the number of complaints increased or decreased with the increase in the time devoted to national news. Maybe most viewers are happy watching the national news, and only a few are complaining now. Perhaps, before the increase in the time devoted to national news, there were tons of complaints about the lack of national news. The decrease in complaints would suggest that the decision was correct.

Finally, even if increasing the time devoted to weather and local news would attract more viewers and increase advertising revenues, the increase in revenue may not cover the cost of making the local news and weather forecast. It is possible that national news is cheaper to produce because they require fewer journalists in the field and fewer people watching the newsworthy events in a local neighborhood. In this case, the television station will gain more viewers but lose more money.

Given the evidence about the local businesses’ advertising situation, complaints history, and the cost of making local news and weather forecasts, the suggestion from the prompt could gain more ground, and it will be possible to evaluate it more rigorously.