People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or a policy are also most critical of it.

In modern society, people tend to gather around some ideas and policies. And the people who are most committed to these ideas are usually the loudest minority we hear the most. Are they the most critical of the idea or policy they are committed to? I would argue that they are mostly not.

On the one hand, people most committed to any idea are probably the ones who spent a decent amount of time thinking about it. And during this thinking, they are likely to explore the weakest points of the idea. For instance, AI risk researchers think a lot about AI timelines and they tend to be more critical of the possibility of Artificial Intelligence in the next few decades than most other pundits. So despite being the people most committed to the idea of creating the safe Artificial Intelligence those researchers are critical of this idea.

On the other hand, it is quite common that people who become committed to some idea or policy become completely ignorant of all of its criticism. This is especially the case with conspiracy theory people such as Flat Earth society. These people think that the Earth is flat and ignore every scientific fact that proves that the Earth is round. The more committed a person is to the idea of the flat Earth, the harder it becomes to convince him that there is a better theory that has more facts pointing towards it. This approach is the opposite of being critical of the idea.

Furthermore, there is a thing called sunk cost fallacy. It is a well-known cognitive bias that pushes people to continue doing what they are doing just because they invested a lot of time and effort in it. I think this fallacy also plays role in making people who are found of some ideas less critical of them: the more time person has invested in exploring some idea the harder it is to admit that the idea may be wrong and move to another one. For example, if the scientist has invested a lot of time and funds into researching the connection between a certain compound in the brain and Alzheimer's disease, it will be hard for him to accept the fact that there is no connection and all that time and money were mostly wasted on resarching the wrong direction. In this case, personal commitment stands in the way of the critical thinking approach that would suggest stopping wasting time and money, writing up the results of the study, and moving on to another research topic.

All things considered, I would conclude that this is a complex topic that has no single answer to it. There are some cases where most committed people are also most critical, but in general, this is not true. While we as a society would want the prompt to be true, human nature itself stands in our way, and it depends on our willpower if we can fight it or not.