The best way to understand the character of society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes and role models. Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

In times of hardship, it is irrefutable that we look up to our heroes and roles models in order to overcome them. They undoubtedly an intergral part of society. The author claims that one must scrutinize their character thoroughly in order to understand the character of society, as these are the paragons of ideals and morals a society upholds. This statement partially holds merit which can be inferred from the following three arguments.

The character of society should not solely be judged on the basis of the character of the role model it chooses as sometimes society may choose the wrong role models. For instance, Adolf Hitler was worshipped by many, yet was one of the most atrocious human beings to exist in history. Many also opposed him but could only do so in secrecy- due to the sheer majority of the support he received- and were never seen as role models which should have been ideal. To judge the entire German society on the sole basis of character of one bad man would be unfair. Sometimes people do choose the wrong heroes, but that does not imply that the society is hopeless as it will correct itself.

Futhermore, the role models we choose are often subjected to leniency when it comes to the judgment of their character. We often overlook the foibles that each of them possess as we are biased towards them. This can be observed when Trump was elected as the President of the United States, despite clearly being discriminatory towards immigrants and his misogynistic attitude towards women. This does not imply that the society accepts these ideals despite him getting immense support. This is further supported by the fact that he was impeached by the people and proves that in order to understand the true nature of society can be understood only when these role models are judged dispassionately.

In contrast, I do agree with the statement heroes and role models reveal the society’s highest values. It is because that these role models are constantly being looked upto that they must inculcate these values. For example, policemen are the most realistic form heroes that a common man can look upto. And this was the catalyst that spurred the Black Lives Matter movement when a role model failed to uphold the values the society values. Since these people are chosen by society and are constantly looked up to, they do not have any choice but to be the show exemplar moral character.

As we can see from the above examples, role models are not the only reflection of the character of society. The people themselves do play an integral role and define the society cherishes as its morals and ideals. The character of these role models do ihowever play a crucial role in upholding these values.