Many problems of modern society cannot be solve by the laws and the legal system. Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Contemporary society is a complex one. Far more convulating than it had been in the past, it has engendered many problems which put the effectiveness of the current law making procedures and legal system in question. Though they may not completely eradictate the problems, I opine that these systems do solve them to a significant extent, as shown in the following three examples.

First of all, those in power rely on the majority support of the people to stay in power. In order to receive this staunch support, they have to understand people’s problems and take an active part in solving them. For instance, gay marriage has been legalized in many countries of the West. This law has played a crucial role in empowering the LGBTQ community. This gave the community a voice to express their opinions and to fight for their rights so that they can help us in establishing a modern version of an egalitarian society. Thus laws are crucial in solving problems of the people.

In contrast, laws may also hurt people’s sentiments. It may go against what people want and further aggrandize their problems. A good example would be the passing of the farmer’s bill in India. The rationale behind it was to expose farmers to a an open market where higher profits were attainable. However this also exposed the farmers to greater risks, which they were unprepared for: leading to a several protests against this bill. This bill may have been passed for the collective good of the farmers, but if they themselves are so disaffected, one cannot help but wonder is the law actually solving the people’s problems?

While keeping the above example in mind, sometimes laws are imperative. They may not be able to change what is in peole’s minds, but they need to be imposed so that eventually people realise their importance. The most obvious example would be the measures of caution against covid. Though many people blatantly disregarded these measures, it was the an absolutely necessary measure. Consequently, the curfews, social distancing and masks etc led to bringing down the fatalities and recovery of millions all over the world. We were able to overcome this global pandemic precisely because these laws were in place despite the open defiance to them by people.

From the above examples, we can see that laws may not always be in line with society’s sentiments but do bring about social collective good. If they fail to serve this fundamental purpose, the people always keep these systems in check and facilitate a change that serves the betterment of society. Hence it is integral that we lend some faith to these laws and legal systems.