All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

It is undeniable that our time at school is a memorable one. But how unforgettable it would be if our parents had been an active part of it? The author claims that it should be mandatory for all parent to volunteer at their children’s schools. While this may appear to be a very random opinion, I opine that it has some merit for consideration. This can be seen in the following three examples.

First of all, this would allow all parents to understand their children a lot better and from a different perspective that is crucial to the development of the child. It would allow each parent to observe closely the environment in which their child is studying. For instance, a child who is struggling with academics, might be subjected to extra tuitions to ameliorate his grades. However, it may not be the root of the problem. Perhaps the child is being bullied at school or the child may have social anxiety which frustrate him from focusing at school. All of this can only be understood by the parent by observing their children first hand at school to gain some insights into their lives. Hence, this would be a merit of parents volunteering in their children’s schools.

Consequently, this will also allow parents to have a better relationship with their child and the teacher. The teacher has to shoulder the responsibility of the child, be it for his accomplishments or for his mistakes, and parents fail to empathize with the teacher. For instance, after volunteering at school, parents would realise how refractory children can actually be and how difficult it is to manage them. This is would provide a parents with a better perspective of what a treacher experiences, engendering a better and healthier communication mode with the teacher. This will ultimately result in improving the child’s performance at the school, resulting in contentment the teachers and parents from the volunteering experience.

However, I also agree that this should not be made mandatory for all parents. Schooling is expensive and many parents work relentlessly to for their children’s education. For instance, a single mother working two jobs to pay for her child’s fees, cannot spare time to volunteer at school as well as manage the household at the same time. It would be unfair and counter productive to make this reccomendation for all parents wihtout understanding each parent’s position outside of school. Making this compulsory, would only result in the aggravation of the parent’s daily struggles and may also adversely affect a child’s situation at home. Hence it should not be made compulsory for a parent to volunteer at their child’s school.

As we have seen clearly from the above examples, the notion of making parents volunteer at their child’s school presents both merits and demerits. It does appear to have a positive intent to it, it is many difficult practical implications. While in the long run it may help the teachers at school and aid parents in understanding their children better, it should not also serve as a burden to parents who are already doing everything they can to raise their child to the best of their capabilities.