In business, education, and government, it is always appropriate to remain skeptical of new leaders until those leaders show that they are worthy of trust.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The fields of business, education, and government are surely important and impactful on the well-being of citizens. Therefore, it is appropriate to be skeptical of new leaders that have yet to demonstrate their trustworthiness. However, to which extent we should remain skeptical is a complex topic and deserve in-depth discussion.

On one hand, it is reasonable to be cautious about new leaders in fields of business, education, and government as they are responsible for making decisions that have a significant impact on people's life. For instance, a city mayor has the power to decide the usage of a certain land. A baseball area can be built on top of this land or public housing can be constructed to relieve the worsening housing crisis. The city mayor may claim that building a baseball arena is more beneficial to the public as it might bring crowds to the city to watch games. However, people don't know if the main benefit will go to the local government or the mayor himself or herself as an enormous amount of revenue can be generated from baseball games. By being skeptical about the underlying motive of the mayor to promote the construction of a baseball arena, the general public can ensure the government is making decisions that benefit everyone the most rather than just a few leaders in charge.

On the other hand, we ought not to be entirely and blindly skeptical about leaders that are new to the scene as it will prevent leaders with great potential from rising to the top. For instance, if voters only vote for politicians coming from a well-known political family or those with dozens of years of experience, young, passionate, yet inexperienced candidates will never have a chance to be noticed. Sometimes being a rookie in a certain field is not necessarily a bad thing. They often aren't constrained by conventions and often propose creative ideas and solutions. Therefore, we must give leaders that are new to the scene a chance to prove themselves rather than rejecting or being unreasonably skeptical from the start.

In conclusion, it is indeed a difficult task to find the right balance of skepticism and trust toward new leaders considering the significant power they have in our lives. The most appropriate take is to be skeptical when leaders are making controversial decisions yet don't be blindly skeptical to the point that the leaders don't have a fair chance of making a positive change.