In business, education, and government, it is always appropriate to remain skeptical of new leaders until those leaders show that they are worthy of trust.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I find this idea unreasonable as skepticism hinder new leaders from bringing about innovations and breakthroughs.

Skepticism may deter new leaders from proposing new ideas and policies, thereby hindering reformations and breakthroughs. One of the major purposes for any organizations to have new leaders from time to time is to invigorate the organizations with the new perspectives and new practices brought by new leaders. Nevertheless, none of these will happen if new leaders think that their proposals are not welcomed. New leaders need an encouraging atmosphere to propose new practices as they already have a considerably great incentive to be cautious and play it save. New to the position, leaders face the pressure of building good rapport with their members and gaining trust and recognition from the organizations. If the new leaders find all of their actions under the strict scrutiny of members, they may feel that their leadership are threatened and choose to be conservative. Fearing that their progressive ideas may provoked their members and make them further doubt their leadership, leaders may follow old routines instead of bring new changes that are beneficial to the organizations. The US presidential elections is a case in point. Nowadays, the US faced various deeply rooted social problems from inequality, polarization, to the increasingly widening social gap. The resolution of all of these social problems take progressive reformations and innovations. During the presidential campaigns, many candidates show great resolution to tackle these problems and propose innovative and progressive measures. Nevertheless, when they are elected, most of them are intimidated by critics fierce attacks, and tend to play safe and follow the existing policies when they are supposed to bring about changes that deal with some deeply rooted structural problem in the society.

Some people may argue that since the new leaders have not yet proved their competences, blindly trusting new leaders may put the whole organization into great risks. Their concerns are reasonable in the past, when the selection process of the leaders is not democratic, so the leaders need to prove their competencies under the scrutiny of all members, yet this concern mostly don't apply to the contemporary society. In the contemporary society, we already have a sophisticated selection process of leaders in all fields, no matter it is business, education, or government. This means that the members already have a general knowledge to the leaders competence and leading styles, and they've already show their approval of the new leaders by selecting them out of the other candidates. In this case, it is more reasonable to show trust to the leaders that members have selected by themselves.

In conclusion, as long as the election process is democratic, trust should be granted to new leaders.