China has some innovation, but most it is well documented that it reverse engineers everything in its path. It is doubtful that China will have a real consumer middle class like U.S. and Europe.

China is not that innovative as the U.S and European countries,Industries of China generally don't have a good research and development team.Countries like U.S ,England ,Netherlands ,Ireland ,etc are much more innovative than the Chinese are.Chinese always the go with the flow of the development.I partially agree to the point mentioned by the author that they are far less innovative.

But I am not satisfied of the whole point that the author want to convey.I think the China will have a better middle class consumer than all other countries in few years to come.They may not be innovative like the others but they are well learned that how to use the resource that already have.

Population may sounds as the demerit of the country but they know how to make use of it.Human resource is one of the major resources that any country can have and it's only on how the country is making use of it.China has learned the way to use it in the most efficient way.

Mobile phones may not be invented by someone from China but if the current scenario shows that China is the major producer of it.They have got a very strong selling market specially in developing countries where people don't care about inventions ,rather they go for facilities in cheapest price.Most of the features that are provided by these Chinese manufacturer are not developed by them,rather they are developed by U.S or European developers.

Inventions,research,development,these terms were never the strength of China,but it's their marketing strategies,their resource utilization,their small scale industries which help China to dominate the world market and I think these strengths of China will help China to have more grip of the world market in the near future.