Too much time, money, and energy are spent developing new and more elaborate technology. Society should instead focus on maximizing the use of existing technology for the immediate benefit of its citizens.

The author asserts that a large amount of time, money and energy are spent in developing new and more elaborate technology and society should better focus on maximizing the use of existing technology for the immediate benefit of it's citizens.It is quite satisfying that the author wants to save time, energy and money for the betterment of the society and want to make use of the things that are already available to us but the whole point that he want to focus on is unidirectional and will only be beneficial for a short run.

Eliminating focus on new technology will lead to reduce the amount of innovations and will not be efficient to fulfilling the need of the society.Their are a large number of fields which will stop functioning without new innovations because the need of the society keeps on changing with time.New innovations will only help the society in long run because the world we live in doesn't remain same with time.

Think about the wireless communications.We started in the world of personal computers,telephones and it was fully dependent on wires for communication of messages.If someone would not have come with the idea of wireless communications, we would not have got amazing innovations like laptops,mobile phones and many more.If that particular person had thought this way that he should save his time, money and energy and he should better focus on using the existing technology, we would not have been using these gadgets and people would have still dependent on wired communications which would have restricted our reach.

Space technology is a very specific field which needs only new innovation to explore.If no new innovation will help we will be limited to only moon and mars, their are unimaginable part of universe and we have reached only a bit of it.Sticking to the existing technology will limit us and will leave the field unexplored.

Automation is a term which has gained popularity in the recent past.Their are huge gadgets in the industries which are being automated now a days.No manual works are needed which will eventually reduce the chances of hazard.If people would not have thought about it and would have limited their thinking to the existing technology than we would not have heard this specific term and still a large mass of people would have been risking their life.

So I conclude that using existing technology will definitely do good but adding new innovation will only help in advancement and will prove beneficial in long run.People should not think about the time, money and energy they are investing because it is for their own good.