During the past year,Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many on-the-job accidents is fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.

The argument claims that Alta Manufacturing should shorten each of the three work shifts by one hour to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents and thereby increase productivity.In order to support the recommendation the author point out that Alta Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries,where the working hours was 1 hour less.He also cities that the fatigue and sleep deprivation are significant contributing factor in many on-the-job accidents.The argument is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

The author highlights the point that during the past year,Alta Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries.This is not fully convincing as the author has not mention about the number of workers working in both the Industries.Their may be a chance that the number of workers working in Alta Manufacturing are by far more than the number of workers working in nearby Panoply Industries.The data provided by the author is limited to one year and their is a chance that Panoply Industries had more accidents than Alta Manufacturing the year before that and it is not certain that Alta Manufacturing face more accidents most of the years.

The author assumes that the fatigue and sleep deprivation are significant contributing factor in many on-the-job accidents.It is not fully convincing as the author fails to point the other significant contributing factor that might have contributed to on-the-job accidents.For example, their may be a chance that Alta Manufacturing safety measures and standards are not up to the mark as it should have been and many accidents occur due to that or the training that is provided to the workers before assigning the task may not be sufficient to teach the how to deal with the work environment and avoid accidents.Even their is a chance that Panoply Industries has got safer work environment and better training.

The author also assumes that reducing the number of on-the-job accidents will increase productivity but the author has not provide any evidence that how on-the-job accidents and increasing of productivity are related to each other. Productivity may depend upon many other factors like the availability of raw materials,number of workers working in the manufacturing unit,skill of the workers working and many more.Their is no proof that on-the-job accidents has hinder productivity of the Alta Manufacturing.

Thus,the argument is not completely sound.The evident in support with the claim that that Alta Manufacturing should shorten each of the three work shifts by one hour to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents and thereby increase productivity does little to prove that conclusion,since it doesn't address the assumptions already raised.Ultimately the argument might have been strengthen by providing supporting data from past few years rather than just one years,by assuring that Alta Manufacturing has got nice training programs and safety work environment and by providing the relation how on-the-job accidents and increasing of productivity are related to each other.