Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.
Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.
As human beings, the most important virtues that all of us must possess are good morals and
ethics. Good morals and ethics means that we must be honest to ourselves and to the people
around us. Being honest and truthful might have some unwanted consequences in the immediate
future, but in the long term, the truth always wins. Sometimes, being morally wrong will be way
easier than standing up for what is morally right, but we must not have a myopic view. We should
focus on the long term effects where truth always prevails. Thus, I believe that an action isn't
defined as morally correct, if it results in more good than bad, rather an action is morally right, if it
supports the truth and the person performing the action has a good intent.
The issue claims that the moral correctness of an action is decided by how much good results
from the action compared to the bad. I disagree with this claim. There are several actions that
cause a lot of instant gratification but one cannot say if they will result in good for a long time. For
instance, if the CEO of a company wants to cut costs of the company, he or she might perform an
action where the company would be able to avoid taxes. This immoral move might have great
consequences, it will make the company more profitabl, thus increasing every employees salary
and will enable the company to expand and provide more employment to people. The only harm
this move will produce is the fact that the goverment will recieve less tax. According to the claim,
such an act should be termed as morally right just because it produces greater good than bad.
Thus, this claim illogically defines a moral act.
The reason on which the claim is based, states that the morality of an action depends on the
result of the action, more than the intent of the person performing the action. This seems faulty to
me. An immoral action most of the times produces greater results and is easier but doesn't mean
that it is right. For example, if a company, wants to do some philanthropic work and is
constructing housing for the poor, but his plan doesn't clear the safety check of the government.
To pass this check, the company bribes officials and starts building the housing. Now, a member
of the company who knows what is happening, is faced with a dilemma. Should he speak up and
get this project shut down or go ahead with an illegal plan. If he keeps quiet, hundreds of poor
people will get housing, but if he speaks up, the housing of those people will be in jeopardy. Even
though the housing plan will produce great consequences for the company as well as the poor, he
must side with the truth. The truth may not have percivable good in the near future, but will cause
a greater good eventually.
To conlude, I would like to mention how morality cannot be defined as just black or white. It has
several colours of grey. Just because an act produces great results does not mean that it is
morally right. Morally right acts need to side with the truth and may have no great results but they
support the truth and thats what matters. The truth always prevails.