'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by the business manager of a television station to request a change in their night schedule plan to in-turn rescue their revenue and even attract more viewers at first might seem a very pleasing as he first states a reason that over the past year the television channel has focused more on the national news and less on other aspects and also the people have been complaining about it due to which they even lost some of their advertising contracts and then he presents a solution in the end. But if one looks at the argument in detail rather than just a fair glance one may find out that there are possible flaws and gaps arising due to lack of proper information which can give rise to many questions that have been left unanswered. Some of the gaps and flaws in the argument are.

Firstly, the manager states that the channel has devoted more time to the national news rather than the weather and other local news. The reason they must have done this might have been because people are more interested in knowing what is happening in the nation. It is true that the station should come up with a new plan every now and then according to what the people want to watch. Therefore more evidence and research data stating what people are more inclined to watch should have been presented to help support the claim rather than just stating the problem.

Secondly, the manager claims that many complaints were received about the station's coverage of weather and local news. This is a very ambiguous statement, complaints regarding the less coverage of local news and weather or complaints regarding the way the station covers the local news and weather. More insight is needed regarding the complaints that what were the basis of the majority of the complaints and then only a solution can be formed to address the complaints of all the people regarding the station's late-night news program.

Moving on, the manager directly blames the station's loss of advertising revenue on the lack of coverage given to local news and weather. But there have to be other factors which need to be taken into account that why did they break their contracts. A detailed analysis should be able to provide with the perfect analysis as what was the reason that these companies had to break their contracts just my merely liking to things is not a solution and the author has failed to provide us with any such data sufficient enough to back his claim.

In conclusion, a more in-depth and statistical analysis needs to be done to find out what the viewers are more interested in watching and what was the reason that these companies had to cancel their contracts and the author has not provided us with such data. Therefore it is very difficult to believe in the solution the author has provided as it fails to answer several questions and address some very important problems.