Claim: In any situation, the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments.

Reason: Facts are objective, so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals.

Human beings are well known for their critical thinking and emotional attachment, both have come along a long way of evolution. logical thinking based on facts has been milestone in humans’ intellectual growth throughout the evolution whereas emotional argument based reasoning has given a moral boost in many subjective hurdles. however, when it comes to dealing in any situation where one has to appeal to the other person, critical thinking based facts and statistics play rather sharp role than emotional persuasion. The underlying reasoning given in prompt –objective appeal based on facts are more persuasive than subjective appeals – is the prominent reason why the claim is mostly agreeable because it assists in deterministic approach to problem solving as well as make a liberal perspective.

facts based persuasion is an approach with which the other person is aware of the possible consequences of decision making. when all the parties in the discussion understand the factual ground they are standing on, they are most likely to comprehend what the future might be when they come to a particular decision. In doing so, they can formulate what limitations they can face and measures to mitigate them. In critical situations such as medical emergencies, statistics are the key indicators whether to continue the process so that the limitations can be mitigated in time. but this is not limited to certain life threatening situations, for instance a student, new to music has experienced a first failure in his/her performance and seeks to persuade his teacher for extra credit activities, can do so in ease with his regular records of class attendance, forward attitude towards learning and constructively handling criticisms. In this way, teacher knows the desire of second chance and the evidence that the student truly deserves one. Not only this persuasion affords new opportunity for him, but also one or two feedbacks from the teacher to improve in the next round. this illustrates well enough how important of role logical reasoning place without exerting blind emotional pressure on the other party.

Unlike emotional persuasion, facts provide a true sense of freedom to the person on the other end and hence they are more likely to incline towards conciliation. when a person is engulfed in emotional sense of obligation, he/she often overlook seemingly trivial intensity of the situation. For instance, a deceptive faction of faith that often feeds on fear of god and devise their own version of what is right and what is wrong. any person persuaded to join this cult, although may find joy in trivial decision making, however sooner or later, they find themselves restrained in dilemma – not because facts are lacking, but due to their unwillingness to defy others. instance – a mixing of politics and religion in the name of socio-political-economic favors has never ended in good terms. many countries are evident of the ongoing wars, where leaders are often convince their rebels in the name of god and fallacious agenda that guides one’s path to Him. this situation mostly arises when people are completely entangled in emotional respect/preferences for each other which clouds their rational thinking and hence lose the grip of freedom on the way. Had the person been approached with arguments based on truth and no strings attached, he/she is more likely to acknowledge their freedom and make unbiased suggestions without shifting any blames in case of misfortune.

In short, it can be concluded that emotional arguments vitalizes only a biased perspective often underplaying the situations that acts as ticking bomb in the long run. On the other hand, facts and statistics provide opportunity to comprehend possible outcomes and thus a safe space for liberal decision making, are the two of the rational ways to appeal to the other person in a discussion.