Claim: In any situation, the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments.

Reason: Facts are objective, so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I only partly agree with this claim, as the underlying reason of this claim only apply in some situations, namely when the persuaders and the audiences are too different to share any kinds of empathy.

As long as a feeling of empathy is successfully built between the persuaders and the their target audience, arguments based on emotions are almost invariably more powerful than those based on facts. Human beings are emotionally driven animals: sometimes, the emotions can be so strong as to drive people to adopt beliefs and practices that are against reason and facts. The Hitler's ascendency is a case in point. While Hitler accusations against Jewish people not only were unfounded but also terribly distorted facts, Hitler successfully build an emotional connections between him and the public by using their shared identity as Germanic people, thereby winning the ferocious support of people. In this case, the power of emotion based on shared identity overwhelmed facts.

Admittedly, facts may be more persuasive than emotional arguments when other people cannot empathize with the emotional appeals. Due to differences in backgounds and experiences, others may not identify with the emotions of the persuaders. Take the task of persuading teachers against stereotypes of ethnic minorities students as an examples. Some of the conventional teachers that belong to the older generation may hold stereotypes that ethnic minorities children are all lazy and incompetent. And when they hear persuasions that their stereotypes can hurt children's feelings, they may shrug the persuasion off, saying "I'm only telling the truth." Such stubborn stereotypes may be due to the fact that these teachers have been surrounded by discriminative discourse against ethnic minority children for their whole life. In this case, it may be more effective to use facts to persuade them, such as scientific research showing ethnic minorities are no less intelligent or competent than their peers when given education that are suitable for them and when they are respected by teachers.

Based on my analysis of the reason, the best way should be a combination of facts and emotions.