Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing

viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting

views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

For an argument to be good, it should be lucid, substantial and cogent. The prompt explores the idea what is the best test of an argument and provides reason for that. The reason is strong enough, however, it overstretches saying it is the only way. Below, I will provide reasons why I agree with the gist of the claim and qualify my support for using the word “only”.

First of all, most issues pertaining our societies do not have any single solution. Most of the cases, there are two opposing arguments, with each side trying to win over the others. Because most of the issues are complex, each side try to focus on a specific part of the issue. For example, in abortion debate, pro-life supporters advocate the value of unborn life, and pro-choice supporters advocate individual liberty. In the debate whether developing countries should adopt a stricter environmental regulation policy, proponents argue for the irreversible effect of pollution on environment, and other argue that it will hinder economic growth. Now, if one wants to make his/her argument more robust, he/she should compare it with its opposing view. He/she should consider the factors what are the underlying reasons behind that opposing viewpoint. He/she should also objectively consider which sectors are important and which sectors are not so much. For example, a proponent of stricter regulation should understand the people’s fear for price hike of commodities, the cost of maintaining environment friendly regulations etc. If he would like to convince them, he must address their concern. He can say not imposing strict regulation will introduce indirect costs like treating the illness and disease caused by a toxic environment, ruining natural properties which could be used as a resource in future etc. By doing so, he can also refine his initial point of view. Thus, by properly addressing the doubts and reasons of opposition, one can make his argument better.

However, the reason stated in the prompt makes an overestimation by adding the word “only” before it. True, one can find the value of his idea by defending it against contrasting views, but this is not the only way. One does not necessarily need to be forced to be defend his idea to discover its value. If he is diligent and intelligent enough, he himself can refine the argument. Sometimes, the opposing view are so disparate that no reconciliation is possible. If one thinks it is ok to kill people of other religions because God says so, no amount of convincing can make them do otherwise. Because all arguments against it failed to convince them, does it mean they failed the test? I don’t think so.

In summary, the prompt gives a strong reason that by comparing contrasting views one ca refine their arguments. But saying it is the only way is stretching too far.