The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards

for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of

Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken

when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in

fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer

ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made

citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on

fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely

the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

The author of the writings in the health magazine argues against the medical experts stance. Though medical experts attribute declining fitness rate of Corpora's citizen to spending too much time in front of the computer. While the author provides some reasons behind his position, his argument is depended on some assumption, that if prove unwarranted, will seriously weaken the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that rate computer ownership is related to the time spent in front of the computer. Assuming that, the author argues that fitness level being high in areas where computer ownership is also high means using computer have not made people physically unfit. But this may not be true. For example, it is possible the region which has high ownership of computer is a rich portion of the city. Although they use computer time to time, people who use computer in office spends lot more time in front of it. As it does not mean they have to own a computer to spend time in front of it, the author's logic that fitness level being high in areas where computer ownership is also high means using computer have not made people physically unfit does not hold water if this assumption is wrong.

Secondly, the author assumes that people's fitness level is related money spent on fitness related products and services. Using this assumption, the author argues that spending less on fitness related products is the cause of declining physical fitness. This also may not be true. For example, this is possible that people who buys fitness related products and services do not necessarily do the exsercise much. They may buy it as a luxury. It is also possible people who don't spend money on fitness related products tend to exercise more, like walking/jogging in the park and doing yoga at home. So, author's case that declining expenditure on fitness related products and services is the cause of declining fitness level of citizen will be wrong if this assumption prove unwarranted.

Thirdly, the author assumes that people will buy more fitness related products when economy will improve. Arguing that, author states that fitness level will increase when economy will improve. But this may also not necessarily be the case. May be, people buy less fitness products when economy is good and spend more on luxury items. It is also possible expenditure on fitness related products are declining steadily over the decades and that does not depend on the well being of the economy. So, authors argument will be seriously weakened if this assumption prove to be unwarranted.

Closely considering author's argument, it can be said that the author makes some assumptions which may or may not be true. For properly evaluating the merit of the argument, it is necessary to examine the validity of those assumptions.