Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Laws are created by people of the society and for the society, although it does not necessarily mean all laws are for the betterment of people. Just like many necessary and fair laws are passed, there are many inequitable and unfair laws are sanctioned. Thus, I agree with the prompt that every individual should obey just laws and resist the unjust ones. I will explain why this is necessary using two points and also qualify my position where this may not hold true.

First of all, laws are necessary for a society to function. A good law dictates how the inhabitants of a society should act with each other, and what kind of steps would be taken if someone breaks the law. If any single person or entity violates the regulation, it affects the society as a whole. For example, government may pass a regulation to protect the environment that requires the factories not to dispose pollutant into water bodies. Of course it requires a significant amount of money to treat wastewater. If one company decides to disobey the law and get rid of its waste without any much forward thinking, not only it will violate the sanctity of water bodies, but also encourage other companies to violate the law as well in order to cut down cost and compete with the former company. Thus, one single violation, if not taken proper action, can greatly damage the cause the law was enacted in the first place.

Secondly, perhaps more important than obeying the just laws, protesting the unjust laws are also necessary. Laws and regulations are made by a selected group of people of the society, so it is possible for them to enact bills that will grant advantages to a privileged few, not for the well being of all residents of the society. For example, when Rosa Parks seemingly 'violated' the law by refusing to give up her seat in the bus, it led to massive nationwide protests against an unjust law that promoted racial segregation. If she didn't refuse to obey that demeaning regulation, she would promote the injustice she and her race was served. Thus, it a human duty of every individual to protest any bill that doesn't serve humanity at a whole.

However, all those words about just and unjust laws, are highly subjective. Same law can appear justified to some and unjustified to others. For example, pro-life supporters want strict abortion law and proponents of pro-choice want the law regarding abortion to be more liberal. If people from both groups vehemontly oppose the law when it is against their views, it will cause tensions and anxiety among general people. For this regard, it is necessary to organize healthy debate and support the outcome, whether it may seem justified or unjustified to specific individual. One may not have the expertise enough to measure the justification of one law, in that case he/she should trust the people who are expert in that field.

In the end, it can be said that human society and the laws governing it are too complex to have a single solution. To make the society function better, not only one should obey the justified laws, but also resist and protest the unjustified ones , so that the latter can be replaced with the former. However, we need to educate and enlighten the members of the society first for this scheme to work properly.