Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting ideas of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

In the given claim it is said that the best way to test an argument is the ability to convince others having different views. The reason given for this claim is that only by defending a given argument we would come to know the true value of that idea. Indeed, if a person involves in a discussion or debate gets to know others viewpoint and opposing factors that are against his idea. I have always liked to participate in a discussion from the beginning of my college days. It has helped me analysing my viewpoint most accurately and thinking before i get into any discussion, simply jumping into any conclusion without having much knowledge will not do any good to the argument for which I am holding my viewpoints.

There are many people who do not think twice before taking part in any debate because they think emotionally. Without proper valid points or knowledge about any topic would certainly give advantage to others. Discussion is not always winning or hoping that our understanding is better than others. It is also about learning. When we get involve in any discussion, there are people who have different viewpoints and that can be more convincing than ours. We should always be prepared to listen to others as it gives us opportunity to learn from others. Through this we also realise how strong our idea is against the doubts and contrasting views of others.

There are situation when the discussion becomes a heated argument if one wants to impose his viewpoints on others. We should always respect others and their ideas. Suppose, for example, there is discussion about “reservation to minority” is going on and according to some people the reservation should be banned and the students should be provided means to prepare for any competition than to give reservation. Obviously it would help students to boost their knowledge and will be strong candidate like others. Simply giving reservation and filling seats in colleges or any other institution only to show the number of reserved candidates is not going to solve problem for such students. Knowledge is only means through which they can give a real competition. Some people may agree to this but others might oppose. They might say that many institutions only take students with high percentages in intermediate level. Since they did not had a proper means to study, neither they had money to spend on good schools, how can they ever compete with such students. The only way is to give reservation to minorities. Here everybody is giving his viewpoints what should be done and what shouldn’t. We should listen to them carefully and see if our idea is still strong enough to hold.

Only through experience in life we get to know many situations. So, it is very important to have convincing ideas before convincing anybody else. We should not jump into the discussion only to convince others that our idea is the best and if they are convinced then only our viewpoint will be correct. In the given reason it is said that only being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting ideas of others does one really discover the value of idea. However, it might not be the case always. There is no doubt that we learn through discussion and it helps in finding how strong and convincing our idea is, but if anybody is not much convinced or have different viewpoint which is wrong from our perspective, it is not really not necessary to convince them.