“A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The author in this argument is making conclusions about the effects of birth order on an individual’s levels of stimulation. The argument, however, is full of assumptions that are flawed and needs to be evaluated clearly to make any conclusion.

First, the author is saying that that the recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys has shown that in stimulating situations, firstborn produce up to twice as much of hormone cortisol, as do their younger sibling. The study is only limited to eighteen monkeys and also the the study has not been conducted widely over other breeds of monkeys. There should have been more number of monkeys to study the effects of birth order on an individual’s levels of stimulations. Also, the author has not mentioned the area where the study was conducted, it might have been possible that the area where this study was conducted have first born monkeys who produce have level of hormone cortisol. There should also be other types of monkeys included in study. If all these mentioned things would have been done then the conclusion would have been more cogent.

Secondly, the author is saying that the firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations, but there is no evidence given in the argument to show this effect on humans. It cannot be said that first born humans produce high levels of cortisol based on the study that has been conducted on monkeys. It might be possible that the humans does not have high levels of cortisol. The author needs to provide solid evidence to make such assumption.

Also, the author is telling us about the first-time mother monkeys who had higher levels of cortisol than those who had several offsprings. But there is no any scientific data or evidence provided in the argument to conclude anything about the high levels of cortisol found in the first-time mother. It cannot be concluded that the first-born monkey had high level of cortisol due the their mother. It might be be the case that there is no relation between the cortisol level of first born and first-time mother monkey.

Thus, the argument is full of assumptions and there is no evidence provided to prove anything mentioned in the argument. So, the effects of birth order on an individual’s levels of stimulations is flawed.