Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The author claims that the argument is considered cogent and well-formed if it can convince someone with the opposing viewpoint. The notion upon which the author bases his claim is that validity of an idea is established only when it stands firm against the contrasting views of the opposers. No doubt, the purpose of any argument is to prove validity of its claims. If opposing viewpoint puts forth ideas that you cannot refute and hence cannot make the other party agree to your provided reasons, you with all certainty have an ill-formed case.

The building of science and all its sub-branches are contingent upon the pillars of justifiable arguments. Formulation of laws in science are the best example of this. The usual course an idea takes in becoming a law goes through various stages including observation, theory formulation, experiment, and analysis, and only the hypothesis that is corroborated by the results of the experiments becomes a law. A mere glance at this process insinuates that if a scientist has a cogent theory and he/she can logically debunk all claims against it, he can turn it into a law, which is universally accepted and acclaimed. On the other hand, theories that fail to challenge contentious viewpoints remain unsubstantiated and open to debate until further progress is made in tackling such antithetical views.

To account for the validity of author's claim, let’s take some examples from some professionals' work-life. A senior software engineer architect, who works at a software house that develops web and mobile applications, oversees development of client products and takes important decisions about the product throughout its lifecycle, i.e. software requirement gathering, documentation, development, and testing of the product. My uncle who works as an architect, once had a heated argument with the developers about which programming language to use for an e-commerce website. The developers insisted on using C# language instead of JAVA, arguing that they have experience in C# and thus will be able to save time. On the contrary, my uncle convinced them to use JAVA by rejecting their claim of saving time. He put forth the argument that most of the company's products are in JAVA and if we switch to something totally different, even though it will save time initially, but the maintenance of a product written in completely different language would not only require much more time, but also involve greater maintenance cost, since maintenance team does not have expertise in C#. So, either the company will have to train the employees or hire people with required expertise. By properly refuting the claims of the developers was my uncle able to convince his team. If he had not been able to logically disprove developers' claim, the developers might have conceded on working in JAVA because of my uncle's seniority, but this contention would have lead to even stronger revolt from developers.

Building upon a case for validity of author's argument, lets peek into a hearing of a typical crime at a criminal court. The suspect is brought in the court and accused of burglary. The suspect claims that he was not at the place of crime when the incidence happened. In fact, he was out of city that day. Now, if the prosecutor can reject suspect's claim of being out of town, he can make his case stronger. The prosecutor, provides evidence of the suspect's car parked near the place of crime and his DNA found in the house he burglarized. The prosecutor shows the correctness of his claim by rejecting suspect's false claims. This shows that argument that follows a logical course of ideas and has strength to refute all contrasting claims is considered sound and convincing.

To sum up, contrasting views are like competitors in a competition, only one can win, and all others lose. The winning argument is the one that supersedes all others. If the logically cogent argument fails to account for other views, it is bound to face serious backlash from opponents and unlikely to convince people. This general hypothesis does not only apply to science, logic and philosophy, but it’s also applicable to plethora of quotidian disagreements and disputes.