The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The argument failds to develop a strong connection between the declining population of sea otter of the Carpenteria to that of groudhogs living in Lansburg. While this might be true, nonetheless, the support given in this passage fails to account for the supposed decline in groundhogs' population. The argument is based on many unstated assumptions.

Firsty, the argument assumes that the development of road along the coastal wetlands and the consequent human activity is going to kill the groundhogs. This claim lacks the necessary evidence to support the plummet of gorundhogs polulation. This claim could have been strengthened had the author mentioned the evidence of how construction of a road is going to have any affect. The author states that construction might decrease biodiversity and make the environment worse for the groundhogs. There's is no way a road can result in above mentioned consequences. Had the author mentioned that the road is going to be used a lot for travelling, and the pollution from the cars has been scientifically proven to kill the groundhogs, the argument could have been substantiated.

Secondly, the auther applies the situation of otters to grounhogs and draws conclusions. It might be the case that otter perished mainly because of a disease or the food they feed on got less. Ii might also be possible that thepopulation of animal that preys on otter