Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students. Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own

Essay topics

The prompt argues that student, in the college, should be directed with authoritative courses rather than elective because students, like common people, like specific direction. However, I believe that disagree with the reason and claim behind it.

When the sophomore at first go to the college, they may be irresolute about the courses, however, it may be due to too many elective courses are provided, when they have little knowledge and idea about the subjects rather than their penchant towards their clear guidance. For instance, when I matriculated in pharmacy school, if the college had made me choose between pharmacology subjects and medicinal chemistry, during the first year, I would had perplexed. Since, I had to choose it during the third year, I had to complete sense about my favorite subject, that made me to make wise decision while choosing the subjects.

People are most energetic during their student life. They spend most of their time wondering about the issue, doing some creative task, rather than passing their life in a banal way as most of the occupied do. They are the person to want to make the reform, instead of following the rules provided to them. For example, we can see that college have much revolution regarding their faculty member, services, courses than any other organization. Students are not like other people who just want to stick with their daily routine.

However, it is sure that the students are likely to be confused, if there are too many elective subjects provided to them. However, it doesn’t mean that no elective subjects should be provided to students. Instead, the students should be provided with the elective subjects during the higher courses, when they know about which courses to pursue, and when there some a scenario when there is further sub division of the main course.

In conclusion, students should be provided with the elective courses when they are prepared to take it and because the students are more energetic than other people, they are unlikely to take the path with are provided to them already.