Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

One of the things that many elderly people regret is that they didn't actively pursue their dreams when they were young, and because of that, they often advise young people to "follow their dreams." However, it is common to see many people forgoing their dreams because they feel that it would be too selfish of them to carry on with this path under the circumstances that they are in.

Under financial constraints, it would definitely seem wise to choose a more worthy goal in the short-term. Usually people dream of things that would be difficult for them to achieve in real life, distant from their reach. Take the example of becoming an artist or a professional violinist. Both of these careers require people to put in long hours of practice as well as hefty costs for buying art tools or a decent violin. People also deem that it's necessary to receive private tutoring in order to improve their skills, and adding on to that cost, many students go to study abroad to learn from world-renowned artists and professionals. Unless they are born in affluent families, pursuing a career in the artistic field would be a burden to people's families, so it would seem selfish if they obstinately pursue their dream.

However, pursuing a dream doesn't have to be something that overwhelms other family members. Even if people have a dream that may look selfish on the outset, they could find alternative ways to keep following their dreams. Many institutions offer scholarships to gifted children, and if this is not a viable option, people could get part-time jobs to save money for their dreams. It is common to see documentaries about people overcoming familial or educational hardships who successfully achieve their goals in life, inspiring many young people to do the same. If people are able to pursue their dreams on their own, they should be able to receive moral support from their family and friends, without any scorn about whether it's selfish or not.

The most crucial reason people have to follow their dreams is because that is what separates humans from animals. The primary role of animals is to survive in a predatory "eat or be eaten" world, but this is not the case for humans. People have the ability to think for themselves, and this is the reason why humanity could achieve such tremendous success in building a civilization. Without the dreams and ambitions our predecessors had, we wouldn't be able to live in such a developed society. It is not overreaching to say that pursuing dreams is one of the most fundamental desires of human beings, so there shouldn't be any limits standing in the way of people striving to achieve them.

In conclusion, even though people can be frustrated from following their dreams because they think it is selfish to think about only themselves, if they have to capability to pursue their dreams without infringing on other people's lives, they should put their foot down on what they want. Also, having a dream is human's basic instinct, so it shouldn't be frowned upon or be repudiated in any way.