Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

This is a very sensitive issue and it is difficult for us to decide the roles or duties of the government.There are many issues in this statement that need to be addressed.The first question is that whether the nation’s culture is preserved in cities or small towns or villages. Also,the cities should be given financial support only to preserve the nation’s culture?Preservation of nation’s culture should not be the only reason for developing the cities.

Major cities are a driving force for the nation’s development.Also,the major cities can make the cultural traditions of the nation famous in the world.However,it is the small towns and villages that preserve most of the cultural traditions of the nation.The traditions in small towns and villages is much purer than its counterpart cities.Therefore,for preserving the nation’s traditions, the government has to provide essential financial support to the small towns rather than focusing more on major cities.

Considering the example of HongKong,it used to be known as a small village before it was colonized by the Britishers. After the British left the nation, it was drastically changed in comparison to it was before colonization. The traditions were almost completely influenced due to the reign of British. So, investing in such nations for preserving the traditions is just money down the drain.However,due to it being a financial hub it attracts lots of people around the world.So, Chinese government has to preserve its importance.

However, while major cities are the resource of one country's culture, the major part of population in many countries lives in villages. In cities, most people are doing salary-based jobs and in villages, most of the people are farmers. The government of a country has to take care of both the sides to keep balance in society. To construct major cities, the rural places should not be ignored.

The cultural traditions are a chief support to the nation.However,the government should take care of the development of both the rural as well as the urban areas.