Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In a wildlife editorial, it was stated that the Arctic deer population in Canada’s Arctic region had declined. The reason given behind this was global warming causing the ice to melt and due to which the deers were not able to migrate between islands with vegetation but it seems that it is not true.

There is no proper statistical analysis done and stated by the author regarding the population of the deers in the region. Also the fact that the deer population has declined has been taken from the reports made by the deer hunters.However, the hunters are not experts and they might have done some miscalculation or must have assumed data wrongly such as the previous population data which lead to wrong comparison in the first place.Inspite of the climatic changes,it may be that the hunters might be responsible for the decline of the deers in the region.The deers might have migrated to a remote region leaving the hunters to make guesses.

Also,how can it be that only the deer population declined?What about the rest of the animals?Their population must also have declined for the same reason but it is not stated in the editorial by the author.The author quickly jumped to the conclusion that global warming may have hampered the deer population as it adversely affected their old-age migration methods.

The deer population may have declined but may be due to another reasons like there must have been shortage of water in the area or due to human interference or due to lack of mating in the region.Also the deers need cold enough climate for some time and due to global warming because of warmness, it might be that they have migrated to the more northern side near the Arctic region.So in this way the population may not have decline in this case.

Conclusively,the argument given by the author in the editorial is denounced due to lack of evidence.The author should have supported it with more statistical data.