Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Cultural traditions are what define a nation, seperates itself from myriads of nations and identities across the globe. The cities should get adequate financial support from the government – to assert the validity of this statement, first thing needed to be verified whether they are the primary generators and protectors of cultural traditions. The origin of cultural values and their evolution is to be looked upon, and whether cities should be the primary receivers of financial support is also to be validated.

Firstly, the origin of culture. Culture is a defining feature of a civilization. A famous philosopher said, “Civilization is what we have, culture is what we are”. This identity does not form overnight. Culture is the result of thousands of years of values, ethics and traditions; with its roots reaching upto the dawn of a civilization. The concept of culture is much older than the concept of cities. So, crediting cities as the breeding ground of culture actually limits the scope of culture. The first dwellers of a particular area, first societies that started to grow certain crops there and raised certain cattles, create the first instances of culture. Obviously, those bucolic settings dependent on agriculture cannot be defined as an urban system. Also, these agricultural societies often create the oldest festivals of that particular nation. For example, the Bengali New Year festival has a age-old part named “halkhata” where people pay their dues to local shopkeepers and the shopkeeper host them with sweets and other local foods. This tradition comes from the farmers of Bengal, which dates back to more than a thousand years- when there were no city in Bengal area. But the “halkhata” is now celebrated in the cities as a cultural fesitivity.

Yet, chenges in lifestyle with time adds new elements to the culture. These newer elements often originate from the urban areas. The cities will get credit for that. On the other hand, it is also true that, what is perceived as pure urban culture, actually has its root in some rural traditions. Take the example of rock music, which definitely has an urban flavor all over it. But rock music has its roots in blues music, which originated in the rural settings of America. So a deep study on the origin of culture will show that, many supposedly urban traditions actually come from a rural custom.

But it is true that, cities can protect cultural traditions better than rural areas. In cities, there are more opportunities to display and continue those traditions. To continue the culture of dance or play, a nation needs theaters, auditoriums. In addition to that, it also needs people who are willing to see the performances and will be happy to pay for them. These things fit into urban setiings more. Of course, rural areas have their own display of cultures. But cities provide a much bigger stage, a greater platform and larger audience. Certainly, a rural play can not hold candle to an urban opera house performance. It’s not about quality- but the exposure.

So, what can be inferred from above discussions is that, cities cannot be credited as the breeding grounds of culture. But perhaps, they preserve culture better than villages. So, when it comes to providing financial support, cities should get their fair share, but the rural areas should not be taken out of the equation. The aides should be quitable, as rural areas often generates the oldest cultural identity of an area.