Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Choosing the right field of study- that is one of the biggest dilemmas most of the students face at some point of their lives. Now, does choosing a field based on it's market value of "lucrative career" actually solves this dilemma? If so, then it will be partinent and advantegeous if educational institutions actively encourage their students to choose certain disciplines. But success depends more on the person, his understandings and perspectives. Does advocating for some certain subjects belittle others? These factors are very important ones to be considered before adjudicating whether schools or colleges should actively encourage choosing particular fields.

A successful career depends more on the skill of the person rather than the "market value" of the subject, or the field of study. The attitude of the person in question towards the field and the work defines how successful that person would become. So, choosing their own careers is the most important thing for a successful person. The example of Steve Jobs, the founder of Apple can be cited here. He dropped out of college, abandoning a number of "lucrative" subjects. Instead, he started to attend any class of his choice, without being a registered student of that particular class. He mostly liked the caligraphy classes. And later, he admitted that, his knowledge aquired from those caligraphy classes helped him to create the first typefaces for Mac computers, that probably changed the history of computing and the use of graphical user interface.Now, if the college actively persuaded Steve Jobs not to leave those lucrative subjects, possibly he wouldn't have joined those caligraphy classes, and consequentially, this essay would have been written on a DOS operating system.

Another downside of promoting certain fields of study is that, the college itself creates grounds for discrimination. Advocating for one subject does not necessarily mean that other subjects are bad or without any future; but it most certainly implies that a certain subject is better and more valuable. This can create divisions amongst the students of that college. Take for example, a certain college encourages its students to study either engineering or business studies as those fields of studies have more number of coveted jobs and thus better career prospects. Now this can make two things happen- one, the engineering and business students might feel they are the superior class, the cream of the lot. And other faculties might suffer from certain forms of inferiority-complex and thus this can create a conflict between disciplines within the college. Certainly, the mentality of competition- a certain department is not better than us- can actually encourage the students of other disciplines perform better, the disadvantages of the conflict outweighs its advantages.

Some might argue that, the advocacy is actually a kind of guidance. When educational institutions actively suggests what field is to choose, it actually guides those students who are confused about their careers. But less confusion does not guarantee more success. The lack of confusion should come from a student's own realization, not just by following the trend. I had one friend who had a proclivity for programming since his childhood. When he got admitted into a top-ranked engineering university of our country, he decided to study electrical engineering instead of computer science. Because someone persuaded him that, electrical engineering guarantees more pay and more lucrative career. What happened is that, he did not find the subject interesting, left the university in his 3rd year and decided to get admission in another university to study computer science. If he had gone with his own passion rather than listeng to other people's suggestions about career choices, he wouldn't have to waste 3 years of his time.