"People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People often have to make decisions that defines the course of their lives. Such important decisions generally accompany an emotional element. When that much is at stake, a surge of emotion is natural. But do that emotion actually reduces the power of decision making? Some capricious people take decisions based on feelings, on the other hand some can remain steady and make a decision based on logics, setting all the emotions aside. Naturally, logics, rather than emotion, is a more vital factor when choosing the right thing to do. Logical people tend to make better decisions than those people who rely on their emotions and justifiy their decisions with logics later.

Emotions are inherent trait of human beings. They have been passed around from generations to generations for a reason. Obviously, emotions play a role while deliberating over options. But its also true that, what makes humans better than all other creatures is their power of making logical assumptions trumping emotions. Not to be overhelmed by emotion while making an important decision is always the wise thing to do. Also, excessive emotion can actually reduce the capacity for thinking clearly. Researchers have found that, emotions accelerates the secretion of various hormones in human body. Many of these hormones impeded the natural process of certain parts of the brain, the part where logics and decisions are processed inclusive. So, safe to assume that, decisions made relying on emotions have a high chance of being based on poor logic, and so more likely to bring unfavorable consequences.

Additionally, people who make decisions based upon emotion, can often back their choice with logics later. This might seem a bit puzzling. After all, they can provide strong reasons and logics in favor of their position, does not matter before making the decision or afterwards. But here lies another human psychological factor, a little trick our brain plays on us to keep us happy with whatever choice we make. Psychologists conducted various tests and then found that, our perception about something is selective, biased. Before making a choice, humans consider both the advantages and disadvantages of each and every option. But once they choose a particular option, they tend to remeber only the advantages and forget the disadvantages over time. A friend of mine was looking to buy a house. He visited several houses in several locations, and narrowed down his choices to two houses. Now, one house was large but in a bad neighborhood and another house was smaller than what he was looking for, but at a good location. He decided to go for the second one, though that was a bit small. After about two years, he was talking to me about how happy he is about his house. When I asked him whether the house is small, he was surprised and asserted that, the house is larger than his requirement. Now, my friend did not necessarily made the decision based upon emotion. But his case shows that, any choice- favorable or unfavorable, can be backed up by logic later. In fact, that is how human brain is hardwired.

Some might argue that, when a person lets his emotion take over, he actually bases his decision upon intuitions. And yes, human intuition is a very powerful tool, honed by thousand of years of evolution, that can surprise us quite often. But intuition is a hit or miss process. Experience plays a huge part in the development of intuitions in a person, and experience comes from making choices, learning from them. Learning from experience means learning to think critically and logically, weighing all the options. So, it will be inaccurate to say that, intuition and logic are two seperate things.

It can be said from the above discussion that, relying on logic rather than emotion increases the chance to make better decisions. It does not mean that, the decisions taken whimsically will always be the worse one. But logic and pondering over all the options, considering each of their pros and cons tends to enable humans more to select the right option.