Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Nowadays, in many countries, the population tends to concentrate in major cities, as there are more job opportunities than in villages. This, however, does not mean that cultural traditions are typical of them, and, in the next paragraphs, I will explain why I completely disagree with the presented claim

First of all, it is undeniable that the major cities of countries are cosmopolitan, because it is where multinational companies usually place their headquarters, and, as the world is ruled by wealthy people, this fact makes it interesting for international people to live there. This fact by itself completely dismantles the assumptions in which that claim is made, as a culture cannot be preserved by inverting money in the cosmopolitan places of a country.

As well as this, villages are usually places formed by people from the country where they are in, so it is highly probable that traditions correspond more to them rather than to big cities.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the claim made is not right, as the reason that is indicated in order to prove the claim may not hold true in most cases, because cultural traditions cannot be held in a cosmopolitan place.