Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Since the beginning of history, the arts have been one of the main tools that humans have used to express their feelings and to represent historical facts in order to remember them in the future. As well as this, it should be also highlighted that people who appeared the most on pictures made in last centuries are part of Royal Families or renowned soldiers from successful armies. Who cannot remember going to a museum and seeing lots of paintings representing King Arthur in the 15th Century? From this, it can be inferred that art has always been related to power and authority.

However, in the last decades, with the development of the internet and social media, this trend has absolutely been changed, as art tries to represent lots of aspects of reality, rather than focusing its brush exclusively in flamboyant people from the aristocracy. This is why, in my opinion, nowadays government can allot funding in art to bring it to all people without threatening its integrity, as freedom of expression has almost completely been reached, and the range of themes that art can represent is huge.

Further emphasizing on my point of view, according to many studies, the economic investment of the government in culture is directly related to the literacy of the population of the country. It is undeniable that a system that promotes cultural displays rather than banal hobbies will attain a higher level of integrity. As well as this, this availability of art leads to an astonishing improvement in the quality of the decision-making of a country’s inhabitants. In this sense, as the most important kind of decision, from my point of view, is related to politics and economics, I am convinced that ameliorating the cultural base of people is crucial for reaching most of social improvements.

On the other hand, it is clear that artists are, in many cases, revolutionary and irreverent. However, for example, in tyrannical dictatorships, such as the one of Germany during the Second World War, freedom of expression was limited to the ideas that supported the repressive regime. This led to an alienation of people, by showing them only artistic representations that could not be source of an interpretation against the system. Many conspiracy theories contain hypotheses that sustain that the capitalist states do the same, but people are completely alienated and do not complain against that. If these hypotheses were proved true, my opinion would radically change, as I think that freedom of expression should be the sustenance of art.

In conclusion, I am convinced that governments’ funding on arts is fundamental for the cultural development of society, as now, apparently, freedom of speech is almost reached.