CLAIM: The importance of multidisciplinary education is overrated in today’s times.

REASON: Education should be focused on preparation for a specific career path and thus students should be encouraged to only pursue a single area of study.

In today's time compare with a time of older generation, competetion in every field has increased. Its a need of the time. Everyone wants not only to stand in a race but also to win.

The reason for claim mentiond that education should be focused on preparation for a specific career path. This is changing the primary goal of education. The primary goal of education should be concerened to overall development of student. If a student is forced to pursue only a single area of study, he/she might not get any idea of other areas of study and therefore it will be difficult for him/her to choose self interest. On the other hand if a student is allowed to elect the cource on their own then they can decide their career path based on their interest. And to select career path based on their interest, a basic knowledge of multiple areas of education is important.

Multitasking is an important point to stand in this non-assured corporate jobs. With an automation of tasks, requirement for man power is decreased. As a result many companies cutting off their employees. And this cutting off depends on how much benefeciary you are for the company. If you are a multitasker and can do 2 people's job, then company will retain you. So the knowledge of more that one things will help you to retain your job. So multidisciplinary education is important here.

As importance of multidisciplinary approach for education mentioned above, I agree to the claim that it is overrated in today's time. Parents want their child to be all-rounder. But they should consider that their child will learn all the areas but can not be focused on one. Like they say, "Jack of all, Master of none".