Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard anyliving man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Extensive and detailed coverage on an individual by media is getting any less intense in the current era. The claim stated above is based on this situation and concludes that no individual can remain as a hero after such harsh inspection by the journalism. There are indeed fewer and fewer heroes who can survive from the media's critiques these days. However, the claim is precipitous to conclude that society can't have a living person hero. Two main reasons support this, which I will explain in the following section.

First, we should acknowledge that media scrutiny over public figures does not necessarily diminish the person's reputation every time. A recent increase of media coverage on a popular or famous person is instead an enriched evaluation of the person's deeds, and not all of them are disdainful canards on the person. A person's misconduct can indeed be revealed more quickly in the current era; it is not equivalent to that no individual can survive from the inspection from media. Instead, media coverage on a person enables people to develop a balanced understanding of a person and decide if the person can be regarded as a hero.

Bill Gates can be an excellent example in this regard. As a former CEO of a multi-national corporate, Bill Gates often faced harsh criticisms from media because his company was responsible for hedging other small companies to develop and sell innovative computer programs. Nevertheless, Bill Gates, as a person, still is considered a hero for many people. It is because of all the good deeds he has done for the world by founding a non-profit foundation and leading innovative projects to alleviate poverty. Because of the massive media coverage, people could consider his positive and negative aspects. And many of them seemed to agree that he can be regarded as a hero in our society. As this example shows, extensive media coverage does not always end up demeaning a hero.

Even if the media successfully take down a person's reputation to the ground, it is not equivalent to that the person is not a hero anymore. Hero, unlike the claim, is presuming, is not just about his/her reputation. In fact, a hero might not have a society-wide reputation at all. It is easy to regard that a hero is only a person who is covered by mass media, but we can think of many other everyday heroes in our lives. Firefighters are a good example. Each one of them is not covered and examined by media coverage, but they are undoubtedly heroes considering they are saving lives and do goods for our society. Volunteers and educators who work in an underprivileged area are also heroes, even though the media does not cover the people on an everyday basis and do not have any societal-wide reputation. Media scrutiny might turn many of the public figures to dishonorable celebrities, but they do not make everyday heroes as a false idea.

As explained above, the claim that many heroic figures in the contemporary world are losing their reputation as heroes is compelling. However, it should be noted that the claim is exaggerated because there are living examples of heroes who survived after all the attention from the media. It should also be considered that public reputation is not equal to being a hero, as we can see from everyday heroes in our lives.