Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim suggests tha nowadays it is impossible for a living man or woman to be considered as a hero in a society. A hero can be defined as a person who contributes to the prosperity of the society. The reason for this claim is that the reputation of any person can be destroyed by the aggressive inspection of media in the present society. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the claim for the following two reasons.

In the current society with the unbelievable technological advancement, each action of a persn can be easily accesible to the entire world by one click which has made easieror any peson to be declared as hero overnight. But there comes media who investigates those actions as well as the person’s personal life, past deeds and expose them to the general if there is any problematic action done by that person. Even if a person become hero for the society by actually performing good deeds, he can be judged or ridiculed for any misunderstanding, mistakes of his or his family. Consequently, it has become so hard for a person to become a hero or remain hero to the people of the society even he has done a lot due to excessive inspection of media which also make people change their minds.

There is also another scenario where media is used to establish a propaganda and turn the hero into a villain for the society by his opponents. Nowadays, media channels are mostly owned by powerful people who used media to manipulate people, even social media content circulation is not free from any influence. For instance, There was a mayor in a city who worked very hard and changed the entire look of the city to the point that people started worshiping him as their hero. He was beingly widely praised for good deeds but his tasks were eyesore for the people who were greedy and opportunist and not interested in public welfare. They used their power and dragged him into a scandal relating money which ruined his reputation and cost him losing the respect of people. So, the involvement of media for good or bad can turn a hero into nothing with their actions.

However, it is also possible for a person to be hero for a group of people despite media involvement as he gained their trust. He could be hated by some but a real hero for his people. For example, there are many leaders, writers, celebrities, politicians etc. are considered hero for a part of people in the society though their personal lives and past is continuously getting criticized. But becoming legendary people like we used to have in past has become entirely impossible as human beings cannot be perfect and this notion is being continuously used my media by digging information about anyone’s life and criticize his through it.

In conclusion, in such days of technological advancements when it is so easy to survey on people’s each action or going around people and collect personal details has made impossible to a person to be considered as hero for the society. Though a person don’t need to be a hero to the entire society, he can continue his good deeds which will obviously gain him some people who will worship him as over inspection of media is not always justified.