Claim Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today Reason The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

Change is the only constant - this banal saying is highly misunderstood in its true sense. While one cannot deny that the world is constantly changing, we should not forget that it is doing so by building on the past. Every outcome of yesterday's decision is affecting our today and every decision that we take today is translated into our tomorrow. It is in this sense of ongoing additive or subtractive change, that I strongly disagree with the claim that knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

As the world today continues to get more intertwined at a speed that has never happened in the history, one might argue that the decisions of the past cannot help us do true justice to quandaries of the present, that the yesterday's world was trivial and cannot serve as a good analogue, that the situation at hand is much more complicated than what we resolved a month ago. While we cannot deny the fact that every passing day makes our issues more and more complex, reinventing the wheel every day is simply a waste of time and effort. We can leverage our learnings from the past and take effective decisions for today in a more efficient manner, they're creating more favourable circumstances for success.

Knowing about the past can help us make better-informed decisions for today and can reduce our chances of failure. Though the world is changing, the underlying habits of humans continue to remain. In a nutshell, it is possible to preempt how people will plan or react in certain situations based on the historic learning. Modern surveillance agencies look for patterns that they have learnt from the past to uncover and thwart terrorist attacks much before they actually take place. Traders and investors rely on their knowledge of that domain to make profitable investments. People who lost their savings during the great recession of 2000s would be very diligent while deciding their current investments. Almost all companies rely on their experiences and those of their competitors in deciding their future strategies and their upcoming products. Governments use their historic understanding of their neighbours and allies to make new treaties and alliances.

Scientists use their learnings from existing studies to make meaningful strides in their domain at a much faster speed. Vaccines generally take 15-20 years to develop and the fastest vaccine ever made by man has been in 8 years. The vaccine for Covid-19, the pandemic that is staring us in the face right now, is being developed in a "fast track" manner and it draws significant learning from pre-existing knowledge and studies done on the SARs virus. Since the scientists were able to leverage their learnings from an analogous virus, the vaccine for Covid-19 is well on its way to becoming the fastest vaccine ever produced by mankind.

In conclusion, our learnings from the past can help us make effective and informed decisions. There will always be a certain part of decision making which will be based on the current issues at hand, but we cannot ignore the fact that we can and should leverage our learnings from the past in order to minimize our chances of failure.