People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

The mindset and perspective of the public are represented by society. While there can be outliers in a society, the general thought pattern of a society can be taken as a holistic representation of the publics' mindset. The author suggests that the public attitude is determined more by their immediate surroundings and indigenous situations than by society as a whole and I disagree with this view point as a society molds the way in which a person thinks and perceives things.

Societies play a vital role in the development of thinking and perspective during the early childhood and growth phase of an individual thereby leaving a long lasting impression on the person. If a child is born in a society that respects men and women equally, provides equal opportunity to both of the genders, the child is bound to learn these traits as commonplace and will eventually treat both the genders equally. However, for someone born in primitive times, when the females of a society were not given equal freedom as today, this person would generally look down on the women in the society.

Having said that, the general attitude of a person in normal situations is defined more by the society and the impulsive attitude of a person can have more influence from the immediate surroundings. For instance, if someone has been born in a progressive society having a great diversity of cultures and religions, it can be expected of him to respect all the religions equally and show no discrimination whatsoever. However, in unprecedented situations like political instability, these individuals can be expected to break the conventional behavioral patterns and show unconventional anger or resentment.

Often times, we see the rise of a leader that proposes counterintuitive methodologies to overcome the problems at hand. These methodologies are a result of the attitude of the leader that has been developed over time by living in that society. Mahatma Gandhi proposed the path of non violence to fight the British oppression. Following the conventional trends of his immediate surroundings, he could have impulsively taken up arms and joined some militia to fight the rulers, but he chose to rely on his values and general attitude to counter the problem at hand. Eventually, his ideology became the ideology of the entire nation and turned into a mass movement.

Almost always, people rely on their normal attitude to tackle the problems that they are facing and this attitude is developed as a result of the society in general. This attitude is not based on his immediate surroundings. It is only in the case when the individual chooses to act in an impulsive manner, then the immediate surroundings and situations start to affect the attitude of the person. Only if this person continues to act impulsively for a longer duration of time, then the indigenous environment will take precedence over the society in shaping this person's attitude.