Claim - Leader Repu'

Reason- Media

Society usually regards some individuals as hero because of their heroic deeds, but it also expect high standards to be followed by them. The premise state that nowadays it is difficult to regard someone as hero as media scrutiny lead to revelation that tarnish the image of these heroes. While media scrutiny have made it difficult for heroes to maintain their status, I mostly disagree with the premise due to two reasons.

Admittedly, as media has become vibrant and its coverage is wide spread, so it is difficult to hide anything. Recently, another dimension of social media have made every one a kind of journalist with social media account. Nowadays, it is difficult for public figures to hide anything about their life and malfeasance acts from media. There are number of examples that surrounds us in which a number of public figures reputation is tarnished by media outlets. Usually, public figures private affairs and acts are exposed by media that not only lead to embarrassment for them, but also affect their career. Their image in the public eye got affected by this slanders sometimes as media reports are not always facts,and usually a tactic for rating. Therefore, media have make it difficult to retain heroic status.

However, media also play a very vital role in recognition of number of heroes whom we even first came to now with the help of media. There are numerous examples some of them are as follow. A teacher in China have denote his Kidney to his student, and a media outlet invited that perosn in its program to publicize not only a good act but to allow us to see thsi hero. Another example involves the recognition given to a firefighter who have endangered his life to save childs in a building on fire in India. This guy was reported by a news channel that lead to his recognition when he awarded a gallantry award. These examples shows media in identifying heroes and introducing them to us.

Secondly, media negative reporting not affect true heroes. For example, Franklin Rosevolt is regarded as great president of USA. After the death of FDR media outlets publish some reports regarding his affair with his mistress. This news didn't affect his image in eyes of US people who remember him as a great leader who helped USA during recession. Similarly, Ghandi and Martin Luther King are also came under media scrutiny after their death. There are many news reports about Ghandi moral decline and indulgence in debauchery. MLK was reported as spectator while a rape recently in a newspaper, however these reports are not going to change the services these heroes have for their people.

In a nutshell, even though media scrutiny have made it almost impossible for public figures to hide anything, but media role as identifier of heroes can not be disregarded. In addition, a 'true Hero' image is not affected by such scrutiny in the eyes of those for whom he act as saviour.