University should allow variety of subjects

Education plays a vital role in national development by producing educated citizen that can form a civilized society and can play their part in the country progress. The premise states that universities should make it possible that students take a variety of courses outside their field of study. While taking courses outside of your area of study is ineffective for some students, I mostly agree with the statement due to two reasons.

First of all, all students are not the same in terms of their potential and interest in specific fields. So, it may become complicated for those students, who are not interested in subjects outside their field of study, to perform well in all subjects and support this idea. In this case, it will be time waste for these students as they are not going to get benefit from this policy. Let's take an example, a student of Biology is not interested in Math at all, and the university imposed this recommendation on that kind of students as well. It will not only affect this student time allocation but also result in stress to deal with subjects that are not matching with their taste. Therefore, imposing this recommendation without taking in consideration this side will result in not beneficial results as expected.

However, this recommendation will help students get an understanding of related subjects and can improve their career prospects. For example, if a law student takes a criminology subject, it will help him in his future while dealing with criminal cases. Similarly If, a student of Biology, have to study computer science will help him to use knowledge of computer science in his field and consequently improve his work efficiency. If we see the job market, we came to know that it is changing widely. Nowadays, people are changing their job every ten years, so if a person is having exposure to a wide variety of subjects, it will help to deal with changing job prospects. Thus, a student can get a lot of benefits from having a variety of subjects in his resume.

Secondly, the field of science and technology relies considerably on interdisciplinary research these days. To get benefit from a merger of different subjects, students must study different subjects. Let's take an example: studying Biology and Computer Science at a time can lead to a new field of Bioinformatics. Similarly, studying the field of Biology with Mechanics can lead to a new branch of BioMechanics. So, there is a lot of potential for innovation by merging different areas.

In sum, even though sometimes taking a variety of subjects is overwhelming and may lead to stress in students, it can help students in their career and can also result in the development of new fields.