Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Yes, I agree with the given statement that "Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts". Decison making should be done by someone who has power to corroborate the decisions and should be able to change decisions drastically too (if some problem occurs which cannot be solved). Politicians have such powers as, they are elected by the public. Politicians are guiuded by government experts who has knowledge of the situations and can conform the hypotheses with help of everybody else in the main body.

The reason provided can supported by the following example, during 1990s India was going through finacncial transformation all the people in the country were worried that if country goes bankrupt what will happen to them and their families? This was the general view of the public but politician and government experts were thinking about saving the everybody not just their family members. So, then Prime Minister of India had a small discussion with finance department which was led by Manmohan Singh. Manmohan Singh with the help of other experts came to a solution to open the India for manufacturing economy before, this decision India was a closed economy that means only things produced in India could be sold in the country this rule was making India go default. All the government experts gathered data like how much money is owed by each state to central government, they calculated deficit of each state and all other paramters and accordingly, gave many Multinational Corporations's some special rights to exercise in the states. This reform helped India from going default and helped in taking step in globalization.

On the contrary we can see Venezuela, a country who has more oil reserves than Saudi Arabia, UAE, USA is going bankrupt today because all its dictator did were fill their own pockets. In instance, to make people's life easier the government made some resources free to the public like petroleum this worsened situation. People of the country didn't want free petroleum but other resources of the country like medical care, insurance and other life saving policies. Politician and government experts were being more informed than everyone took a wrong judgment for the general public leading to a crisis which could not be controlled. The government was working with affluent families who indirectly were ruling people on behalf of government. Therefore, government could not take any decision for the people but they did take decision for themselves and affluent families. If decisions were to left to the general public I am sure the situation right now in Venezuela could have been averted and people of the country would have been happy.

Though, politican and government experts are always far more informed we cannot always say that they have better judgment and can see through point of view of general public as we can from the situation in Venezuela but, the case in India Was different government always saw better for the general public and did thought from point of view of them. Not always politicians and experts are good but public is too sometime.