Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Experience is greatest form of knowledge one can get. It is experience which helps us make better decisions. Given that the claim "Knowing about the past cannot help to make important decisions today" is dependent on situation. Until whole situation is assessed completely and thoroughly we cannot make decision. If a connection is made between the current event and past event then and then only a decision can be made. The given claim can be solved if we have experience about similar event from the past. After all, not all events or situations we get in our life are new but, some of them are and others are similar to the one's experienced in past by our collegues, peers or anyone of our relations.

Dr. Robert J. Oppenheimer who is also known as 'father of atmoic bomb' made some decisions only on the basis of experience. He was facing difficulty with which coolant to use in making for atomic bomb, he had variety of coolants but not knowing how each one of it would react made him think to use other options. In the end he had two options which were, 1. Water and 2. Hydrogen Peroxide. He got to learn from certain American sources that the Nazis were also building atomic bomb they to had same doubt to use which coolant but, after going through many experiments Oppenheimer settled on hydrogen peroxide by finding out all the cons it had and failures that Nazis's got by using water as coolant. Although, Oppenheimer had partial knowledge of some of the things like coolants to use but, it was experience which he linked correclty to his thesis and made atmoic bomb which did not harmed anyone in the process.

Once we are able to establish even a slightest amount of connection between past and present we can always learn more about the situation and are able to make vital decisions based on it. We can take example of Andy who is stock market broker. He invests in all kinds of stocks, mutual funds, bonds and other sorts of things. Andy during his visit to IBM in late 1990s saw the growth, expansion that a computer can have once if made available to public so, he started to invest in companies, firms like IBM. Although he, did study only a little about them but he tried to make a connection between these software companies and phones which he saw back during his childhood. He knew immediatley that computers are going to be the next best thing happening to humanity. After investing in those companies during 2005 or 2006 Andy sold all of his stakes in from those companies and he made millions of dollars. It was Andy's thought process which made him to connect present event with the past abate it was his long term experience in the stock market but it was the connection he made in the past. He did not make money in a single night but with his experience he made it in just a few years.

Experiences are the proofs of the mistake we make in the past. They are one of the most vital components to make life more mature. We are able to make a connection between present situation and past event because of experience. No fledgling can take on any situation but a veteran can always atleast find a way to overturn the given sitation to his or her advanatge.