Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs a

Government funding has a detailed project allocating and proportionating funding to multiple areas. It is true that there are stratification and category of funding causes, and undeniably, helping those in hunger are of more importance than funding art, something not essential of survival. However, such comparison hold true in a simple conceptual comparison. In consideration of possible benefits and consequences of funding, the result depends on practical situation. The accountant of government aims to bring most profits to all citizens like smart investor. The reason given in the statement, although originated from kindness, fails to recognize the possible benefits of investing in art. It fails to provide a solid support for the claim, and the claim, though true in some scenarios, fails to hold true in many situations. I want to negate both the reason and the claim, providing some reasons why they do not hold true and providing benefits of funding art.

It is very true that those who are unemployed or disabled are in urgent need of government support, however, their plights cannot be solved by government subsidy. Unemployment rate is a great indicator of the overall economic status, which goes down when economy blooms, and drops when recession takes place. Apart from directly providing subsidies to them, the best solution is to excite economy growth thus creating job openings and improved national gross income. Since the industrial revolution, the death rate and overall poverty has dropped significantly in comparison with agriculture era. The rise of food production rate cured hunger and poverty. Admittedly, there will be a small population that suffer from disabilities, preventing them from getting a job interview and earning a living by hand. However, unlimited funding to those who simply are unwilling to work and live off on subsidies, is not fair to tax-payers.

Art is a great way to excite economy and provide job opportunities. Supporting art industry can lead to building new art galleries, increase needs of art supplies, attraction of art lovers and market of artworks. All of those can elevated people in economical plights by giving them jobs to support themselves, which is a better and fairer option than directly putting money into their hands. There are many cities that praise art as the center of attraction. Like Venice which is famous for their theatrical heritage, where Gonzalo boats with boatman singing Italian opera shifting along small cannels in the city, where masks of various shapes and sizes appear at the window of every shop windows, where tourists crowd the city every month of the year. Although investing in art seems unrelated with helping poor, it is actually a good way to generate local economy and provide persistent benefit to those in need.

Even in the case of extreme poverty where survival surmount any other desire, the decision should involve consideration of the future, because unless the plight is transitory, like experiencing extreme drought or war, making decisions to quell the temporary thirst will not bring long-term benefit. Standing on the perspective of government officials, the upmost importance is create most profits using limited funding, and investments can bring profits in the next ten years. The misconceptions by the proponents of the claim is not recognizing the profits of art business and instead think of it as a waste of funding. Changing a stereotypical view will shed some light into the plight.