The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

The well-being of a society is closely associated with the energy and liveliness level, indicators of benevolent social environments that allow freedom of speech. Silence and fear when speaking publicly signal the unhealthy relationship between the authority and the public, in the sense that individuals fear the consequences of direct impeachment and the government is insecure of its efficacy to silence any opposing view. In my opinion, a society can be enhanced when people freely express their concerns to the authority because it symbolize a healthy relationship .

The opposing side might recognize the adversity of the freedom, mainly the abuse of freedom. The statement gives a specific condition that when many of its people question authority, is it beneficial to the society? Such phrasing might incur a bad image of the vast majority hold opinions against the authority , indicating the ineffectiveness of the incumbent officials. Especially this office has no response to the many objections , but to passively allow such situations to continue. However, only when the authority has become transparent on its policies and plan that put them in a vulnerable position open to criticism. A secretive authority only disclosing distorted figures and numbers leave no room for supervision. Comparing with darkness, transparency can prevent corruption, add on censorship to the executives and educate the public with the mechanisms of government. The benefits of allowing censorship, acting like a protective shield of society, outweigh the possibility of extreme situations when the authority disregards all criticism.

The more people engage in conversation of public affairs, the more voices conjugate, the deeper understanding of public’s concerns and attitudes. It is also beneficial for the authority itself to receive questions, worries, disapprovals from the public. Not to be confused with submitting to public opinions, the authority can select, filter and analyze first-hand materials of citizens to design better strategy and policies. To intake public opinions should not be equate to subdue under public pressure, governments can view it as a source of information as a practical and useful tool. Since the healthy feedback can enhance the performance of authorities, it is beneficial loop for the entire society to create policies fitted to public’s needs.

Lastly, public criticisms can be a great way to hear voices from minorities, who are underrepresented in populations. Their concerns and problems are usually neglected by their weakness in current democracy system applying “the rule of majority”. Due to the way of legislature is composed, minority benefits require a long and arduous process to be understand and acknowledge by the public , not to mentions to ask for concessions from the privileged majority . The channel of direct communication between the minority and the authority, although not fundamentally establishing a system to protect minority benefits, leads to a more equal society.