Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

In order to be effective, the politicians should make the right decision most suitable to current situations. Otherwise, such decisions can be called inappropriate. Effective leaders should master the right tool of decision making. In the given statement, two of such decision criteria are listed: submitting to public opinions and adhering to particular principles and objectives. Personally I value the ability to stick to principles and objectives more than making compromises.

I agree that to become an effective leader, the ability to listen to public opinions are important. Opponents rightfully claim that leaders should heed to views expressed by the mass. The opposing side dislikes a leader who diverges from the mass and makes decisions for the public, not accord to the public. A leader who disregards public’s opinions also is in risk of disregarding public welfare. For example, Hilter, a notorious leader, disregarded all opposing voices from his people, his consultors, his enemies, and his allies. He adhered to his personal objective, to extinct Jews. It is an extreme counterexample of ignoring public opinions. However, under other situations where sagacious leaders own visions not be visible to the mass, they should stick to their principles and objectives.

Great leaderships require some extraordinary abilities like the ability to see the big picture, the ability to plan ahead and the ability to grasp trends beyond our generation. These leaders should not be shackled by public opposition. For example, the peace leader Gandhi made an enormous contribution to the liberation of India by nonviolence. Foreseeing the power of union and standing firm to beliefs of freedom, equity and peace, he educated his followers on his principles. He made the public listen to his political philosophy, not the reverse. Moreover, he is not unanimously supported. In fact, there were violent groups who sought liberation by force, including those who assassinated Gandhi. Facing fractions among own people, Gandhi stuck to his principles, putting public opinions second. He was the best example to counter those who ask leaders to submit. There are many more examples like Winston Churchill, Margaret Thatcher and Vladimir Putin, who are also being accused of stubbornness but lead their people through difficult times.

To summarize, we must acknowledge the importance of being a diligent representative of mass voices. In some situations, it is essential for the leader to listen and to compromise. However, when I was in the voting booth, I would vote for those have a persuasive blueprint of my nation and determined to carry it out.