Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.Reason: It is inappropriate—and, perhaps, even cruel—to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs a

Given that there are so many various problems unsolved in a country, it seems the Government should resolve the most serious ones as the starvations and unemployments. Compared with the help for art as funding, these two problems are more important when we consider all of them separately. While in my opinion, as a government of a nation, not all the problems being solved one by one, there would be a collective way of resovling these matters especially when the problems are all related to money. I will address my views as belows.

To begin with, as we consider each of the three problems, the citizen still starving and unmployed are the main issues as all of our consideration. Just imagine that you can not talk with a poor person with no income from some undeveloped area about various kinds of arts, he is hungry and he need money. Thus it is true that a resposible government should put the battle against poverty and unemployment at the first place. Viewing through the histroy we hardly can not find such cases, like the new China, after establishment in 1949, developing economy is the first misson for the whole nation, in last century, most of the foreign contries consider Chinese as poor and weak, which is totally different now.

While it seems there is no balance between the first mission that fighting against poverty as well as unemployment and funding art, of course not. Where there is a will, there is a way.

So the art varies in different kinds. The first reason why the authority should fund the art as we research this issue, I believe it it because the art needs help as the people who have no jobs and still in starvation. Especcially some kind of unmaterial cultrual heritage like opera and some skills at the edge of extinction, they need the official help. So here the problems in font of most countries are both from people's poor conditon and the dying arts. However, if the government funds the art, it will be a lucrative way of making poor people out of starvation as well as getting jobs. A new open gallary needs people to run and offer maintenance, so the jobs are created, with the incoming visitor to the gallary, the problems of poverty and unemployment could be solved in one day. In the wester of China, there are still lots of people who are under the poverty line evaluated by authority, while some of them under the help of the government started local film production base because of the exotic scenery of the western part of China, some of the places look like the surface of the Mars, there were some scientifc fiction movies filmed in these places, which raised local employment. Also, in the middld of China, there are some local paintings made by ancient ways, but this painting skill was known by fewer and fewer people, while under the investment of authorty which opened sucn training schools, these kind of painting revived and sold a abroad.

In all, we need to change our views when we meet the issue like this , there will be a balance.