Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate — and, perhaps, even cruel — to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author issue to nation should suspend government funding for the arts when significant number of their citizen are hungry or unemployed is a contentious one. Both the sides of suspending the fund or not have strengths and weakness. However, I choose the side of the government continuing the funds ofr the art as the skill development is also an important part for the country growth and may be in future they can be job givers. Furthermore, having funds for art and promoting art also help the nation to get the global representation. Nonetheless, the funds must be such that the government also meets the need to the needy people to provide them with the basic necessity of food and job.

The government need to allocate some percentage of the budget for funding and improving the culture of art and develop the skill among their constituent. The art could be many form like music theaters, dancing , painting and many more. Giving the support such groups will help them and motivate them to do better. For example giving support to them will represent them at world stag like academy awards or grammy awards which will help the nation to get global recognition.

Moreover, the funds also help to generate more employment. For example, government supporting a thatcher artist which means they are encourage to do more plays or make new movies. And production all the art work require a large amount of backend support to make set, to fix lights and many logistic areas. Hence, these is also a way to provide job to a large section of people and sustain their work. This way the groups can become self sustaining and be job providers.

However, the percentage should not burden the government and heavy sum of the money need to spend for the improvement of the needy people. Government must focus to provide the basic necessity of food and shelter to its citizen. In case of cruises the priority is always given to help the needy people. The government must decide upon the priority and threshold for the amount spend on both the part for art and providing food.

In conclusion, the government need to decide and fix the priority of the country as per circumstances. But, the funds for art will definitely help to improve the condition for some people and its also a major source to create jobs and provide money to the people.