Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate-and, perhaps, even cruel-to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In times of recessions and stressed economies, people often lose their jobs or much of their income, and without sufficient savings to last out an economic winter, some will lose basic food or shelter. It can be argued that during these times, the funding for art and other areas that are seemingly unrelated to daily lives should be reduced or even suspended, but I believe it to be unwise to do so.

First of all, government funding to art, or government funding of any sort in general, are supposed to be a support to the sector that is unlikely to fail. Art is never a very stable living, and without this stipend, artists cannot possibly be expected to join in the creation of arts full-time. In this scenario, even a very brief stop in funding would regress the entire profession in the said country by a long way. In fact, currently the intermittent funding to many projects, usually caused by political changes, is one of the greatest squandering in modern economies, since these projects almost always fail and all preliminary investments are wasted. If art as a profession is subject to the same senseless allocation of funding, art would probably not be able to survive in the country after all. Even the complete withdrawal of all funds to arts would be more reasonable than such a suspension.

Secondly, even if funds are withdrawed from art, it is often hard to find further use for this funding. In economic crisis, governments usually need desperately places for worthy investments, to pump the economy back into working position. The funding needed for these stimuli are often great, but it is a small price to pay. Withdrawal of funds would be a most foolish act, since no good is to be done from having even more people lose their jobs and become unemployed. There are always a select few who cannot understand the importance of art in our lives, or imagine the work as an artist to be a relaxed one, so they become envious of the imaginary easy life of such artists in down times, but most knew of the power of art in motivation. The funding of art is often minuscule compared to economic woes, after all, and overall it does have a positive effect on the livelihoods of the society as a whole.

Last but not least, the moral concerns about supporting art when people are going hungry is impossible for us to solve. Poverty and hunger are far away the lives of many of us, especially in developed countries, but it exists everywhere in significant numbers, and the reasons are complicated to solve. Illnesses, disabilities, over-borrowing and such maladies would destroy one's livelihoods in all but the most determined welfare programs. It can be safely claimed that there will always be significant portions of people that are unemployed, so the claim mentioned would mean the funding to arts would never be put into place.

Summing the above, it is unwise to stop government funding to art in economic downturns, or any government funding that was deemed appropriate for the development of the country. Such a move would benefit no one, and perhaps destroy years of progress on important projects.