Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate - and, perhaps, even cruel - to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether the government should cancel funding for the arts when hunger and unemployment are ubiquitous in the country. Indisputably, arts are important for a nation as it represents the culture of the nation, ensure new employment and encourage people to concentrate on arts. Nevertheless, hungry nations are more cognizant of food rather than arts, and starvation and lack of jobs may engender chaos in all over the country. Thus, I mostly agree with the claim that the authority should rescind funding for arts, despite the fact that arts have significant contributions, while most people lack of food and employment.

First of all, people who are starving and lacking jobs do not really care about arts because what they concern more about is food and standard of living. To illustrate, take Africa as an example; most Africans are impoverished and do not get the minimum food needed to live. Even if they find food for lunch, they are not sure about dinner. In this case, will they actually be aware of the arts? arts will not manage food for them. So, the government should provide minimum food for them instead of spending money on arts because food is mandatory for them.

Furthermore, hunger and unemployment may cause an uprising in the country. For instance, Arab Spring (which started in 2010 in Egypt) is the result of several reasons: poverty, lack of food, and meager jobs -- leading the whole Arab-majority states to catastrophe. So, if the government does pay attention to arts rather its citizens will lead rebellion. If people get enough food and unemployment is low, they will be encouraged to arts and thus the culture of the country will be flourished.

However, arts are also imperative for a nation to be developed. Because arts represent the culture of the nation, lives of the people, and overall developments of the country. Apart from these, arts can create employment as well. When the government will provide more funding for the arts, people will be encouraged and motivated to arts, which will finally enhance the arts.

In conclusion, if the citizens are hungry or unemployed, although the arts are important for a nation, the government then should focus on its citizens rather than the arts. Because improving people's living standards will finally enhance the arts and thus culture.