Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In modern times, academia have become a vast collection of different fields of study, each containing the works of countless forerunners, perhaps beyond anyone's ability to comprehend fully by their own. However, some subjects have stagnated across the years, leaving only tricky questions that require immense insight to tackle. Students in these fields undoubtedly are in a precarious situation, as most of them cannot eventually do meaningful contribution to the field. However, I believe it is upon the students themselves to do the decisions, and institutions should not block access to these subjects.

First of all, students should be responsible for their own futures, and educational institutions should always guide students instead of hampering them. Different people have different opinions about areas, and talented students can sometimes discover the key of a brand new age of discovery. Even if these students eventually cannot make major discoveries, even minor ones may at least give a good living in a small circle of people. Life isn't depended on time spent learning, and those who cannot perform well will find better paths to proceed. Of course, the hardships incurred in this process may be great, but this is the student;s own choice, and it is up to the institution to remind the students of hurdles, but never to dissuade them from their future.

Perhaps even more importantly, the very notion of success may be too harsh in real life. Most of us knew our hopes for the future when we grow up, and for some of us success may be different from others. Society have forced the idea of success on may of us for many generations, financial success being paramount, but some would happily accept an offer for work with less pay if it contains other motivations. Young people often dream about their futures, and these can provide immense emotional support well after the age of dreaming. Institutions will do much harm to students if such dissuasion becomes factual hindrance.

Last but not least, even in the most worked patches of land, there are always people who do work and succeed. Acceptance of new entries are sometimes better than those learning in major topics, and even though it may be hard to be truly successful, students can make a living, with less pressure from competition.

Summing the above arguments, I believe it is vital for educational institutions to stop the dissuasion of students. Instead, they should inform the students about different possible outcomes, and leave the decision making entirely to themselves.